العار من السمنة: ما هو ولماذا هو خطير للغاية بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يعانون منه

أن تكون ضحية لفضح السمنة يعني أن تتأذى من زيادة الوزن. إنه موقف تمييزي وخوف من السمنة يسبب إحساسًا قويًا بالخزي لدى الشخص الضحية. إنه يخلق الوصم وانعدام الأمن ، مما يغذي احتمال المعاناة من اضطرابات الأكل. إن الشعور بالرضا في جسدك هو الخطوة الأولى في محاربة فضح الجسم ، يمكنك أن تستلهم من الفيديو أدناه لفهم كيفية القيام بذلك.

فضح السمنة يميز جسد المرأة والرجل

نعني بمصطلح عار السمنة سلسلة كاملة من التمييز والجرائم ضد الأشخاص البدينين ، أو التي يعتبرها المجتمع كذلك. إنها كلمة تم اختراعها في الولايات المتحدة ، حيث تتقدم الحركة لإيجابية الجسم بالتأكيد على إيطاليا. على الرغم من أن الأولاد قد يعانون أيضًا ، إلا أنه قبل كل شيء يتم اتهام جسد النساء: سمين جدًا أو نحيف جدًا ، لكن دائمًا ما يكون ضحية موقف مذنب للغاية في الجسم. ثقل المرأة يصبح موضوع السخرية والاستهزاء والنكات الثقيلة التي تدفع من يعاني من هذا الضغط نحو انعدام الأمن العميق الذي يمكن أن يستمر مدى الحياة.

لسوء الحظ ، في السنوات الأخيرة ، انفجرت هذه الظاهرة حرفياً على شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي ووسائل الإعلام وحتى مشاهير من عيار Adele و Britney Spears تعرضوا على جلدهم كل عنف موقف اللوم هذا تجاه الجسم الذي يعتبره "سمينًا" من قبل " الرأي العام.

أنظر أيضا

الظلال: لماذا يتألم كثيرا عندما يختفي شخص ما فجأة؟

التعاطف: ما هو وما أنواعه ولماذا يتم تجربته

الكوابيس: ما هي ولماذا نقوم بها وما معنى كلمة المؤتمر الوطني العراقي

© GettyImages

وفقًا للدكتورة سيمونا كالوجي ، رئيسة AIDAP (الجمعية الإيطالية لاضطرابات الأكل والوزن) ، فإن الأشخاص الذين أصبحوا أبطالًا للعار من السمنة ، أو رهاب السمنة ، لاستخدام مصطلح إيطالي ، يعبرون عن رأي سلبي قوي ضد أولئك الذين يتم اعتبارهم " مذنب "بامتلاك جسم يتجاوز معايير النحافة التي يفرضها العالم الغربي.

هناك اختلاف جوهري فيما يتعلق بمصطلح "العار" بين "الإيطالية" و "الإنجليزية": كما هو محدد بحق من قبل اللغويين ، في لغتنا ، يجب ألا تُفهم كلمة "العار" حرفيًا على أنها "عار" (لسمنة المرء أو جسم ناقص ، في هذه الحالة) ، ولكن كوصمة عار حقيقية. وبالتالي ، فإن الشخص المتضرر من هذه الوصمة التي يحملها جزء من المجتمع ، يتعرض للسخرية والتهميش واللامبالاة حتى يواجه مشاكل خطيرة في المجتمع. علاقته بجسده واضطرابات الأكل.

© GettyImages

من الخزي إلى الاضطرابات النفسية: هذا ما يشعر به من يتعرض للعار الجسدي

يمكن أن يكون لهذا الوضع من الهشاشة الشديدة أيضًا تداعيات خطيرة في العلاقة مع الطعام: غالبًا ما تفعل النساء ضحايا العار الجسدي كل شيء للالتزام بمثل الكمال الذي يعرض صحتهن للخطر.
يعاني الأشخاص الذين يصابون بجسم سمين من الشعور بالضيق الشديد. إنهم يشعرون بالذنب لأنهم فشلوا في احترام معايير الجمال التي يفرضها المجتمع الغربي ويعانون من انخفاض شديد في احترام الذات. في الحالات الأكثر خطورة ، يأتي الأفراد الذين يتعرضون للتمييز الشديد ضدهم من قبل المجموعة ، لإنشاء علاقة مرضية مع الطعام ، يهيمن عليها هم. من الهدف غير الواقعي المتمثل في إدخال الحجم 38. في قاعدة وصمة العار ضد الدهون ، هناك فكرة منتشرة مفادها أن الشخص الذي يعاني من زيادة الوزن ضعيف ولديه القليل من الإرادة ، وغير قادر على السيطرة على جسمك.

© GettyImages

ترتبط قائمة طويلة من الخصائص السلبية بالسمنة وأولئك الذين يعانون من زيادة الوزن بشكل كبير ، وليس من غير المألوف بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يقعون في موقف الخوف من الدهون أن يؤديوا على المدى الطويل إلى عزل أنفسهم والاختفاء من الحياة الاجتماعية . هذه الأحاسيس معروفة للكاتب إيمي إردمان فاريل ، مؤلف مقال صدر في إيطاليا نهاية عام 2020 بعنوان "عار فات .. وصمة عار الجسد السمين". تحلل آمي إردمان فاريل في كتابها تاريخ وصمة السمنة من خلال ربطها بأنواع أخرى من التحيزات ، بدءًا من التحيزات العرقية ، بهدف إظهار مدى مساهمة المظهر الجسدي (للمرأة ، على وجه الخصوص) في دعم فكرة معينة عن المجتمع الأبوي.
لسوء الحظ ، حتى في أمريكا ، حيث ولدت ثقافة إيجابية الجسم ، هناك الكثير من الناس (حتى المشهورين) الذين صبوا أنفسهم بالعار من السمنة. وفقًا لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز ، حتى جو بايدن وأوبرا وينفري. ومع ذلك ، استجابةً لهذه السلوكيات المرعبة والتمييزية ، يستجيب مشاهير الجيل الجديد للقوافي.

© GettyImages

كيفية محاربة فضح السمنة

مثل جيجي حديد التي تدعي ، من ملفها الشخصي على Instagram ، أنها فخورة بجسدها ، أو Rihanna ، شعار عارضة أزياء جديدة تركز على تقرير المصير.
ومع ذلك ، هناك شيء ما يتغير في إيطاليا أيضًا فيما يتعلق برؤية هذه المشكلة. طالب فيليبو سينسي ، في مداخلة في البرلمان ، بتدخل قانوني هيكلي ضد جميع أنواع التنمر ، حتى تلك التي تستهدف الأشخاص البدينين. يتضح أن شيئًا ما يتغير ليس فقط في المواقف التي يتخذها السياسيون أو المشاهير ، ولكن أيضًا من خلال "ظهور وعي جديد بين المهنيين الصحيين.

في الواقع ، يتزايد اقتناع الأطباء بأن "السمنة مرض حقيقي له أسباب معقدة ، ويصعب حلها من خلال النظام الغذائي والتمارين الرياضية. ولدعم الحاجة إلى رؤية أوسع لا تميز ضد الأفراد الذين يعانون من زيادة الوزن" ، فهي أيضًا الأستاذة جيلترود مينجرون ، مدير UOC لعلم أمراض السمنة في مؤسسة مستشفى جامعة Gemelli. قام الطبيب بإعداد وثيقة التزام مهمة تهدف إلى مكافحة وصمة العار الناتجة عن الدهون ونشرت في مجلة Nature Medicine المرموقة.

© GettyImagesjpg

رمز آخر لمكافحة فضح الجسد هو الالتماس ، الذي تم إطلاقه في عام 2018 ، ضد المسلسل التلفزيوني Insatiable الذي أنتجته Netflix. يحكي العرض قصة فتاة أمريكية ، بعد أن تعرضت للعار على جسدها بسبب جسدها السمين ، قررت الانتقام من أولئك الذين سخروا منها. واجه البطل الحقيقي للقصة مشكلة خطيرة مع اضطرابات الأكل وهذا أحد أسباب انقطاع المسلسل في مهده ؛ في الواقع ، يبدو أن المسلسل ، بحجة الحديث عن موضوع فضح السمنة ، حرض على خلل في سلوك الأكل.

أولئك الذين يجدون أنفسهم يعانون من التمييز ضد مظهرهم الجسدي كل يوم سيربطون إلى الأبد السعادة بالمثل المثالي للكمال الجسدي. الطريقة الوحيدة لعدم الوقوع في هذا الفخ هي معرفة أن السمنة أو النحافة لا تحدد قيمتنا كبشر.

كذا:  واقع اختبار قديم - النفس نساء اليوم

Fat shaming: what it is and why it is so serious for those who suffer it

Being a victim of fat shaming means being hurt by being overweight. It is a discriminatory and fat-phobic attitude that causes a strong sense of shame in the person who is the victim. It creates stigma and insecurity, fueling the possibility of suffering from an eating disorder. Feeling good in your body is the first step in fighting body shaming, you can take inspiration from the video below to understand how to do it.

Fat shaming discriminates the body of women and men

With the term fat shaming we mean a whole series of discriminations and offenses against fat people, or considered as such by society. It is a word invented in the United States, where the movement for body positivity is definitely ahead of Italy. Although boys can also suffer it, it is above all the body of women to be accused: too fat or too thin, but always the victim of an extremely guilty body shaming attitude. The weight of the woman becomes the subject of derision, mockery and heavy jokes that push those who suffer this pressure towards a profound insecurity that can last a lifetime.

Unfortunately, in recent years the phenomenon has literally exploded on social networks and the media and even famous people of the caliber of Adele and Britney Spears have experienced on their skin all the violence of this attitude of blame towards a body considered "fat" by "common opinion.

See also

Ghosting: Why does it hurt so much when someone suddenly disappears?

Empathy: what it is, what are its types and why it is tried

Nightmares: what they are, why we do them and what is the meaning of inc

© GettyImages

According to Dr. Simona Calugi, president of AIDAP (Italian Association of Eating and Weight Disorders), people who become protagonists of fat shaming, or fat phobia, to use an Italian term, express a strongly negative opinion in against those who are deemed "guilty" of having a body that goes beyond the standards of thinness imposed by the Western world.

There is a substantial difference concerning the term "shaming" between "Italian and" English: as rightly specified by linguists, in our language the word shaming must not be understood literally as a "shame" (of one's own fat or of a imperfect body, in this case), but as a real stigma. The person affected by this stigma carried on by a part of society, is thus derided, marginalized and blamed until, dangerously tried on a psychological level, can go to meet to serious problems in the relationship with his body and eating disorders.

© GettyImages

From shame to psychological disorders: this is what those who undergo body shaming feel

This situation of extreme fragility can also have serious repercussions in the relationship with food: often women victims of body shaming do everything to adhere to an ideal of perfection that jeopardizes their health.
People who are hurt by a fat body experience a feeling of profound malaise. They feel guilty because they fail to respect the beauty standards imposed by Western society and suffer a strong lowering of self-esteem. In the most serious cases, individuals strongly discriminated against by the group, come to establish a pathological relationship with food, dominated as they are. from the unrealistic goal of entering a size 38. At the basis of the stigma against fat there is the widespread idea that an overweight person is weak and has little willpower, as unable to have the control over your body.

© GettyImages

A long list of negative characteristics are associated with the obese and those who are heavily overweight and it is not uncommon for those who are victims of a fat-phobic attitude to be, in the long run, led to isolate themselves and disappear from social life. These sensations are well known to the writer Amy Erdman Farrell, author of an essay released in Italy at the end of 2020 and entitled "Fat Shame. The stigma of the fat body". In her book Amy Erdman Farrell analyzes the history of the stigma of fat by relating it to other types of prejudices, starting with racial ones, with the aim of demonstrating how much the physical appearance (of women, in particular) has served to support a certain idea of ​​a patriarchal society.
Unfortunately, even in America, where the culture of body positivity was born, there are many people (even famous ones) who have stained themselves with fat shaming. According to the New York Times, even Joe Biden and Oprah Winfrey. However, in response to these fat-phobic and discriminatory behaviors, the new generation celebrities respond to the rhymes.

© GettyImages

How to fight fat shaming

Like Gigi Hadid who, from her Instagram profile, claims to be proud of her body, or Rihanna, the emblem of a new female model focused on self-determination.
Something is changing, however, also in Italy, as regards the vision of this problem. Filippo Sensi, in an intervention in Parliament, asked for a structural law intervention against all types of bullying, even that aimed at fat people. That something is changing is evident not only in the positions taken by politics or by famous people, but also by the "emergence of a new awareness among health professionals.

In fact, doctors are increasingly convinced that "obesity is a real pathology with complex causes, difficult to solve with diet and exercise. To support the need for a broader vision that does not discriminate against overweight individuals" she is also professor Geltrude Mingrone, director of the UOC of Obesity Pathology of the Gemelli University Hospital Foundation. The doctor has drawn up an important commitment document aimed at combating the stigma of fat published in the prestigious journal Nature Medicine.

© GettyImagesjpg

Another symbol of the fight against body shaming is the petition, launched in 2018, against the TV series Insatiable produced by Netflix. The show tells the story of an American girl who, having undergone body shaming due to her fat body, decides to take revenge against those who had mocked her. The true protagonist of the story had a serious problem with eating disorders and this is one of the reasons why the series was cut short in the bud; it seems, in fact, that, under the pretext of talking about the theme of fat shaming, the series instigated an imbalance in eating behavior.

Those who find themselves experiencing discrimination against their physical appearance every day will forever associate happiness with a sick ideal of bodily perfection. The only way not to fall into this trap is to know that being fat or thin does not determine our worth as human beings.

Tags:  Star Old-Luxury Old-Couple